More on Mary and the Christmas Story

pexels-photo-246352

Suggested Reading: Luke 1:39-55

Key verses: And Mary said, “My soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior, for he has looked on the humble estate of his servant. (Luke 1:46-48)

Mary is in a hurry to get to Elizabeth’s. I don’t speculate on why. She just is. When Mary arrives at the door and Elizabeth opens it (or however it might have been at that time), Elizabeth must have sucked in her breath in surprise.

Let’s backtrack for just a second to Elizabeth’s conception. It’s a miracle, too.

Elizabeth and her priest husband, Zechariah, were up in years and had no children. Unlike today, this represented shame for Elizabeth.

But one day, while Zechariah was doing his priestly duties, Gabriel appears to him (this angel gets around!) and tells him he and Elizabeth are going to have a baby, John, and that he would be great before the Lord. He gives and Zechariah instructions as to how to raise the boy because of how God is going to use him.

Unfortunately, the priest doubted, so Gabriel had to strike him dumb until John was born. Bummer to have to keep all that cool information under wraps.

It could have been avoided if he would have displayed more faith.

Life teaching for me, that’s for sure. I’m dumb about a lot of stuff.

Back to the encounter between Mary and Elizabeth.

When Mary arrives, Elizabeth’s baby, the future John the Baptizer, leaps in her womb. Babies move all the time during the latter part of pregnancy. They dig into your ribs, squish your bladder, break-dance while you’re trying to sleep. So, it has to be a special leaping.

This is confirmed when Scripture says the Holy Spirit filled Elizabeth—huge since Jesus has not yet born, little less announced the arrival of the Comforter (Holy Spirit). Elizabeth gets an anointed preview. Just like Mary did when the Holy Spirit came over her so she would conceive.

The Holy Spirit reveals to Elizabeth just how special the baby cousin Mary carries is. Otherwise, how does she know to say, “Blessed are you among women, and blessed is the fruit of your womb! And why is this granted to me that the mother of my Lord should come to me?”

She could have said, “Girl, what were you thinking doing that before you married Joseph?”

So, here you have two women meeting, with two world-impacting babies growing in their bellies. They’re both enthralled with the fact that they are pregnant at all, and have a tiny glimpse of what it is going to mean via Gabriel and the indwelling of the Holy Spirit.

Regardless of the lack of full knowledge, they both exemplify a “Here am I” attitude.

We get to read the outcome of this story. And enjoy the incredible privilege of the consequences.

Given these amazing testimonies, if I were smart, I would just give myself over to what God wants to do. To allow myself to be part of His amazing story. I may never know what my role means. I need to be okay with that.

What if Mary and Elizabeth had questioned to the point of missing out?

Today I choose to revel in the fact God wants to take me into consideration at all. For whatever He has up His omnipotent, omniscient sleeve.

How about you? What emotion or action does being part of God’s story trigger in you?

 

 

 

About colleenshinephillips

Writer, veteran missionary, adventure and intrigue-lover. Convinced of the power of the word and the Word.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More on Mary and the Christmas Story

  1. Wonder. Gratitude. Joy, often expressed through tears. I hope this story never gets old. It’s a privilege to play a small part in God’s big plan. I pray He’ll help me love, honor, and obey Him as I respond to Him with a heart willing to surrender and be used by Him—Here I am, Lord! Send me!

    I’m so glad we’re on this adventure together, Colleen.

  2. Patti Brown says:

    “What if Mary and Elizabeth had questioned to the point of missing out?” <— A huge fear of mine! I do NOT want to do this!!

Leave a Reply

