Proverbs Part Three: Forty-four Hours and Counting

white-house

I am not political. I don’t fight over candidates, get into heated arguments about who is right or wrong, and when folks start slinging mud, I switched off the TV or log out of Facebook.

But one has to admit that the world held its breath during the United States’ presidential elections back in November. I know I did.

One of my best buds and I are on the opposite ends of the party spectrum, yet our friendship weathered the campaign and election. Hallelujah! You know who you are. . .

And now we are nigh unto one of the most controversial, if not the most controversial, presidential inaugurations ever in the United States.

Living here in Chile, lots of people have asked me who I voted for and why. Sometimes I enjoy, sometimes I get irritated, by all the opinions flung at me by people who don’t live in the United States and yet feel the need to regurgitate what they have heard or read from a biased (one way or the other) media. Our ballots didn’t make it via snail mail soon enough, so I can honestly say I didn’t vote for either one.

Singers and religious leaders have been vetted for performances and prayers at the inauguration. We’ve heard and read all kinds of speculations as to why certain artists turned down the opportunity to display their talents on such a huge stage. The security set in place for protection will be unprecedented. And the attendance will probably be, also.

In the midst of all this, as has been stated by authors much better known and more widely read than myself, God continues on the throne and nothing escapes Him. It is so true. So, even in the midst of all the adversity and speculation, I continue to read the book of Proverbs.

One of my biggest concerns has been proposing to put faith in one person to turn around a situation brought on by a multitude—that one candidate or the other can fix it. Or ruin it, depending on your perspective.

Proverbs 11:7 says, “Hopes placed in mortals die with them; all the promise of their power comes to nothing.”

Seriously. If I place my hope in President Trump I might as well cash it in right now. Regardless of my or your opinion of him, he will probably do the best he can with what he’s got, but for me to deposit my hope in him or any other man? Disastrous.

I can only put my hope in Christ Eternal. I can only trust Him to “fix” the world or the country or my vexing situation.

Reading Proverbs this last week has also led me to think about the advisers in the oval office surrounding the new president. Proverbs 11: 14 says, “For lack of guidance a nation falls, but victory is won through many advisers.” On the surface, it seems like if you rally a bunch of people around you to pool ideas, somehow you will stumble onto the solutions.

The problem is, trying to get wisdom in all the wrong places and using supposed “objective”, but very often subjective-laden, knowledge or opinions for making decisions that will affect the world without truly seeking God and fearing Him, as the Proverbs-writer drives home again and again, these men and women in Washington are going to have a hard time.

Not saying some of the decisions won’t be good ones.

But without deriving wisdom and knowledge from the Source, it will all end up being a gamble—a roulette wheel. At some point it could be a Russian roulette, politically speaking.

To finish this off, consider Proverbs 16: 2-3: “All a person’s ways seem pure to them, but motives are weighed by the Lord. Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and he will establish your plans.”

People have gathered in Washington D.C. to pray for the 45th president on the United States of America. My guess is some involved didn’t vote for him. Truth be told, that ship has sailed. So, what is left? To pray that the president and his advisers will fear God and seek true wisdom. That they will commit their plans to him. Not in the sense of coming up with something and then asking for God’s stamp of approval.

No. Seek God, figure out what He is doing, and get on board with that. That works whether you are president of the United States, a stay-at-home mom, an author waiting for a contract, a brick layer, or kindergarten teacher.

What process do you use to make decisions? Regardless of where you live, how can you prayerfully support your government this week?

 

 

About colleenshinephillips

Writer, veteran missionary, adventure and intrigue-lover. Convinced of the power of the word and the Word.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Proverbs Part Three: Forty-four Hours and Counting

  1. Susan Casey says:

    Only what is eternal will last!

  2. While I don’t claim to ever be able to “figure out” what God’s doing, I’m all for “getting on board” with Him, heeding His Word, loving and living in obedience. And, our eternal and loving Father, living and active yesterday, today, and forever, calls us to pray.

    I find comfort in the words the Lord spoke to Solomon, after he’d finished the temple: “I have heard your prayer and have chosen this place for myself as a temple for sacrifices. When I shut up the heavens so that there is no rain, or command locusts to devour the land or send a plague among my people, if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and heal their land.” (2 Chronicles 7:12-14, NIV)

    So, I’m joining you in praying, Sister. I’m not praying for my will or what I think is right. I’m praying God’s will be done and trusting He is working no matter what happens. Thanks for another insightful post.

  3. kaseygiard says:

    Opposite ends of the political spectrum??? I have no idea whom you might mean. 😉 I love the Proverb you quoted. So very applicable, especially right now. It’s a crazy time, that’s for sure. I’m very thankful that we aren’t in it on our own. 🙂

  4. Hello as I sit here watching news coverage of the inauguration. Yesterday (as an ex-pat warden in Chile) I received a message from the US Embassy in Chile to pass on to my people: Be careful of political protests in Santiago!! Incredible…and it is the same here in Canada. You are right that it’s a bit irritating to hear so many opinions from outsiders. ALL of us should get in on God’s secret to making a nation great… righteousness! (Prov. 14:34 – Wouldn’t that be a novelty? 🙂 )

    Thanks for emailing me about your post. No, I didn’t get a notification.

Leave a Reply

