GOD, THE ETERNAL

Now to the King eternal, immortal, invisible, the only God, be honor and glory for ever and ever. Amen. 1 Timothy 1:17.

 “I am the Alpha and the Omega,” says the Lord God, “who is and who was and who is to come, the Almighty.” Revelation 1:8

For the Lord is good; his steadfast love endures forever, and his faithfulness to all generations. Psalm 100:5.

In my last two posts, I established that God is Independent—He is in a class of all of His own, unique, incomparable, and He doesn’t need anyone or anything else to subsist. I also shared the humbling news that although He is all the things our finite minds can’t even fathom, He wants to be known. He makes himself available to us. Our relationship with Him holds a priority in His plan.

According to the Bible, His plan is to have a people and for Him to be their God.

Today, let’s take a brief look at another of his non communicable attributes. Just as a reminder, non communicable means it is a characteristic He alone has and does not share with his creatures or creation.

God is eternal.

I like dictionaries and decided to look it up in my favorite, http://www.merriam-webster.com,  but this time, it totally failed my expectation with a wimpy:  having infinite duration. On the chance it might be better, I navigated to http://www.dictionary.com, and to my surprise, this is what it said: without beginning or end; lasting forever; always existing. That’s what I’m talkin’ about!

God always was, is, and always will be. No one created him, therefore no one was before him.

According to what I could find, worldwide, the average life expectancy at birth was 71.0 years (68 years and 6 months for males and 73 years and 6 months for females) over the period 2010–2013 according to United Nations World Population Prospects 2012 Revision.

My mom just turned ninety, and she never thought she would make it to that age. I talked to my ex-pastor’s wife on Sunday, who is seventy-seven. She told me the same thing. And my friend Linda’s mother-in-law is ninety-three and is just tired of living.

So, eternal?

I have no way to embellish this truth. As much as I love words, they fail me. It just is. No one created God. He just always was. And nothing can ever be done to make him non-existent. And just like his other attributes, this only makes me want to trust and worship Him.

I confess that the more He is unlike me, the more magnificent I find Him.

Although we are created beings, therefore not eternal in the sense God is, we do participate in eternity. In fact, and this is my opinion, so you can agree or not, my eternity started the nanosecond after I was conceived.

We are formed in Mama’s womb, are born and live here on earth, we die, and after that, whether we want to accept it or not, only two possibilities exist:  continuing on in a different place after death forever with God or continuing on at a different place forever separated from God.

But what happens during the time between Mama’s womb and the grave can make all the difference in eternity.

Did you see Gladiator? If not, it is a film worth viewing. If you saw it, do you remember when Russell Crowe’s character shouted, “What we do here echoes in eternity!”? Chills careen up my back just thinking about it.

But I imagine that after that scene, people came up and slapped him on the back. “Awesome, scene, Russ. Good on you, Mate.” (He lived most of his life in Australia, after all.) I don’t think the actor had ever said anything truer in his whole life and career. But my guess is that he didn’t give it another thought.

Sometimes I live my life as if it stopped here.

I fret, I fume, I waste time, I get sidetracked. Today, while writing a note to a friend, it hit me once more just how important it is to remember what this life is all about.

First of all, to get to know God. The gift of heaven is awesome, but I don’t want to meet face-to-face with a stranger when I get there.

Second, to get my priorities straight. What am I truly accountable for and what do I take on that doesn’t correspond to me? How important is it really what consumes my mind, energy, and time?

Third, if Jesus promised an abundant life here (and he did to his children), I need to live it! Can I do something to change whatever is thwarting that? He did not give his life and promises in vain.

Do I take stock of what I do, think, and plan and determine its importance in the face of eternity?

When I have to make choices, how does it hold up after I am gone from this earth? Making decisions could be a whole lot easier if I would just remember this principle, don’t you think?

Isaiah 57:15:
For this is what the high and exalted One says—
he who lives forever, whose name is holy:
“I live in a high and holy place,
but also with the one who is contrite and lowly in spirit,
to revive the spirit of the lowly
and to revive the heart of the contrite.”

God is, has always been, and will be. But, how is what I do here going to echo in eternity?

 

 

 

 

About colleenshinephillips

Writer, veteran missionary, adventure and intrigue-lover. Convinced of the power of the word and the Word.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to GOD, THE ETERNAL

  1. dianesteward says:

    “What we do here echoes into eternity!” You are right there about the goosebumps! As Madeleine L’Engle puts it: “What we do matters.” And as Gandalf says in The Fellowship of the Ring: “All you have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to you.” A huge responsibility in the light of eternal repercussions. I quote an old, old poem that ought to be posted prominently in every believer’s head and heart:
    “Only one life,
    ‘Twill soon be past.
    Only what’s done
    For Christ will last.”

  2. colleenshinephillips says:

    Amen, Sister!!!

Leave a Reply

