RESURRECTION THOUGHTS

Hundreds of thousands speeches, articles, sermons, manifestos, posts, books, theses, essays, and even protests have been about the resurrection of Jesus. Absolutely nothing I could say here would be original or better said than all the aforementioned.

I won’t be writing a post to defend an event I hold to be true and I claim to be the  linchpin that fastens together my faith and that of countless others. Plenty of evidence exists out there to prove it is true if one takes the time to look for it. People give their lives every day in countries like Iraq and even Egypt because they know Jesus is who He said He was and did what He said He would do.

So, what could I possibly say to you today?

Steve talked to me this morning about his conviction regarding the resurrection, and it triggered something in me that I can share here, too.

I cannot ( and don’t want to) imagine what my life would be like if Jesus’s claims were not true, if the prophecies regarding his death and resurrection had not panned out, and if this life on earth, a mere 90 years or so, were the only one. What would be the point? Because yes, the resurrection of Jesus implies our own resurrections and then life beyond earth. Be it in heaven, or be it in hell. I am sorry if that offends you, but it is the bare truth, and truth is one of the promises I have made on this blog.

These truths are cornerstones that give stability and credibility to the Bible—God’s word and my life guide.

Without the Bible and its truths, my life would be a mess. And this is from someone most would refer to as a “good girl”. While growing up, I obeyed my parents. Admittedly, much was out of fear more than anything,  but that is fodder for another post. My sister somehow got past that whole fear thing enough to get away with a lot more than I did. However, I was the child they practiced on, and she was the favorite. If she reads this, I am so going to hear about it. But now she is the good daughter, and I am the liberal aunt. Love it!

By the world’s standards, I have lived a decent life, although I have some big time sins on my roster. If I didn’t believe Jesus’s resurrection to be true, I would have no chance for a clean slate. Plus, and this is a choice tidbit: God. Is. Not. Keeping. Score. It took me so long to figure that out. And really believe it.

If Jesus’s resurrection were not true, why in the name of all that is sane, would I have left the good ole U.S. of A. to come live in a dusty, ugly, little town in Central Chile to get ridiculed, spit on, defamed, and taken advantage of? Just because? I might be naïve and have made a lot of mistakes, but I ain’t that dumb.

For instance, and please don’t take this as complaining because I lack modern conveniences. I don’t have some compared to the U.S., but I have so many compared to other countries. Like no central heating, but I do have a wood stove. No dishwasher, but I can get hot water. No screens on the windows, but I have glass in them.  And no public lending libraries, people! That’s a crime.

We have to have bars on the windows, an alarm system, and it’s smart to chain down anything you leave outside that can be carried off. We’ve had patio furniture and hoses stolen I don’t remember how many times. The most uncanny incident involved a thief unearthing avocado saplings. Really? Those can be sold in the outdoor market for maybe 75 cents or a dollar.

The most painful things have involved the times we’ve lost our shirts for trusting people who had no intention of keeping their word at all. I know this happens everywhere, but I am trying to create a scenario.

When we got ready to leave the U.S., our boys were still in diapers. Josh slept in a crib. We had to have a garage sale, where we sold stuff like we weren’t coming back, even though it was supposed to be a two-year internship. That should have been my first clue that our 2-year stint would end up being a lifetime.  Silly me. The thing that sold the moment the sale started? Josh’s crib. I was all like, “Where is my baby going to sleep tonight?”  Somehow, we all survived, and now that garage sale is part of our story.

If I didn’t believe the resurrection of Jesus to be true, why would I have spent my youth, all those glorious, energy-packed years, in a place that up to now, collectively-speaking, has not shown all that much appreciation for my “sacrifice”? Just because?

If it weren’t for Jesus, I could be so embittered I wouldn’t even want to be around me. Instead, He reminds me I gave Him my youth, and this is where He chose for me to spend it. That gives me such a different spin on it.

I have moments when I want to toss in the towel. I mean, don’t we all? Moments when I would like to just do whatever I want and forget about a mission or calling. In our family, we joke about it and wonder what it would be like to have what we call “el momento de confianza”. Meaning, you have sixty seconds to whatever you wanted, no-holds-barred, and God wouldn’t take it into account. But you know? Even now the desires of my heart are so soaked with Jesus and His resurrection, nothing even occurs to me within that framework anymore.

He is my reason to beMaybe that sounds religious or cliché-ish.  But it’s true.

And knowing what I know, living what I have lived, I would have it no other way.

How about you? Have you checked out the evidence regarding Jesus’s resurrection? Have your conclusions made an impact in  your life?

I’d love to read your comments.

 

About colleenshinephillips

Writer, veteran missionary, adventure and intrigue-lover. Convinced of the power of the word and the Word.
This entry was posted in Holiday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to RESURRECTION THOUGHTS

  1. kaseygiard says:

    I should have known you were the liberal aunt! This must be why we get along so well. :p Haha! Great post, as always. I agree with you– I do not like to think about what life would be like if Jesus’s claims were not true. I’m so glad they are. 🙂 Thanks for sharing this thoughtful post.

  2. colleenshinephillips says:

    I know, right? Hahahahahaha. One of my nephew’s wives has referred to me as “Fun Auntie”. I like, that too!!! And yep, probably why we get along. One of the many reasons. Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. I always look forward to it.

  3. Jesus changed everything and is changing me, one day at a time. I don’t even want to think about where I’d be if He didn’t soften my heart and wrap me up in His grace. That’s why I love sharing Him, whenever and however He allows me to do so. Thanks for sharing your heart and your love for the Lord! To God be the glory, the honor, and the praise!

  4. Wow, thank you, dear Colleen, for sharing your heart here! You are so right, nothing done for our Lord Jesus Christ is in vain. Every sacrifice is gain. All for Jesus…

Leave a Reply

